PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES July 2, 2024

- 1. Chairman Haines called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.
- 2. Roll call-quorum is met, simple majority vote required for all items.
 - Present: Bruce Haines, Steve Thiesse, Lewis Bainbridge, Dave Anderson, Ray Gosmire, Chris Nebelsick (call in), Jeff Bathke & Karen Wegleitner.
 - Absent: Mike Blaalid.
 - Guests: None.
- 3. Consider the proposed agenda.
 - Motion by Lewis Bainbridge, seconded by Ray Gosmire, to approve the proposed agenda. All members voted aye, motion carried.
- 4. Declare conflicts of interest. None.
- 5. Consider the previous minutes. Motion by Steve Thiesse, seconded by Dave Anderson, to approve the June 4, 2024 proposed minutes. All members voted aye, motion carried.
- 6. Public input for items not on the agenda. Hearing none, the meeting continued.
- 7. Consider a variance application requested by Jeffery Albrecht of:
 - 1. +/- 40', creating a rear and side yard setback of +/- 35', where the minimum setback is 75' for a shelterbelt in the Agricultural Residential District.

This request is located in Lot 1 of Albrecht's Addition in the NE1/4 of Section 18, T 103 N, R 60, W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota.

Deputy Adminstrator Wegleitner gave an explanation of the variance application . The applicant was not present to answer questions.

<u>Discussion:</u> Jeff Albrecht would like to put in a shelterbelt for a windbreak. The surrounding land is owned by his father and will not be used as crop ground.

 Motion by Lewis Bainbridge, seconded by Dave Anderson, to recommend approval of the Variance Permit to the Board of Adjustment.

Roll call vote:

Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Gosmire – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Nebelsick – aye, Blaalid – absent, Anderson – aye, motion carried.

- 8. Additional Comments from the Group
 - None.
- 9. Set date and time for next meeting August 6, 2024 @ 7:00 P.M.
- 10. At 7:12 P.M., a motion was made by Lewis Bainbridge, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to adjourn the meeting. All members voted aye, motion carried.

Bruce Haines
Planning Commission Chairperson
Karen Wegleitner
Karen Wegleitner
Deputy Director of Planning & Zoning